On Now
Coming Up
  • Sun., Sep. 21, 2014 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM CDT Packers at Detroit Lions Packers at Detroit Lions
  • Mon., Sep. 22, 2014 4:00 PM - 4:15 PM CDT Live McCarthy press conf. Packers Head Coach Mike McCarthy will be available to the media on Monday, September 22, in the Lambeau Field media auditorium.
  • Tue., Sep. 23, 2014 9:00 AM - 11:00 AM CDT Humana playground build (morning session)

    Scheduled to appear: Andrew Quarless and Casey Hayward

  • Tue., Sep. 23, 2014 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM CDT Humana playground build (afternoon session) Scheduled to appear: Datone Jones and Micah Hyde
  • Sat., Sep. 27, 2014 6:00 PM - 7:00 PM CDT Packers Everywhere pep rally (Chicago)

    Packers fans 21 years and older are invited to bring the spirit of Green Bay to Chicago a day early with a free Packers Everywhere Pep Rally. Packers President/CEO Mark Murphy will take part in the pre-gameday excitement by greeting fans and participating in a Q-and-A session with Wayne Larrivee, the radio voice of the Packers. Packers alumni Mark Chmura and Don Beebe will also be at the rally to socialize with fans, sign autographs and discuss their thoughts on the next day’s game against the Bears. A round-table discussion with Packers.com writers Vic Ketchman, Mike Spofford and the audience will conclude the event.

  • Sun., Sep. 28, 2014 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM CDT Packers at Chicago Bears Packers at Chicago Bears

Hall of Fame nominees announced

Posted by Mike Spofford on September 28, 2012 – 11:37 am

Four individuals with ties to the Packers were among the 127 nominees announced this week for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s class of 2013.

Outside linebackers coach Kevin Greene, former safety LeRoy Butler, former GM Ron Wolf and Clay Matthews Jr., father of current LB Clay Matthews III, are all on the list.

The list of nominees will eventually be pared to 15 finalists, who will join former Packers LB Dave Robinson, a senior nominee, for the final stage of consideration. Greene was a finalist last year after being a semifinalist in previous years.

Tags: , , , , ,
Posted in Packers.com Blog | 15 Comments »

15 Responses to “Hall of Fame nominees announced”

  1. By Dave on Sep 28, 2012 | Reply

    Congrats LeRoy! I am especially happy to see your contributions to the Packers recognized! Awesome!

  2. By Zach Kilmer on Sep 28, 2012 | Reply

    GO PACK GO! Good luck nomeniees!

  3. By nigeriaguest on Sep 28, 2012 | Reply

    nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees! nomeniees!

  4. By Pete on Sep 28, 2012 | Reply

    Where is Jerry Cramer??? Again..

  5. By Spencer L on Sep 28, 2012 | Reply

    Greenbay home of the most overrated team in the league. And home of the most whiny bandwagon fans this league has ever seen. Have fun in cellar this year!!!

  6. By billfromc'ville on Sep 28, 2012 | Reply

    Take it easy Spencer L it’s all fun and games, man!

  7. By Steve B. on Sep 28, 2012 | Reply

    Ummm. Sterling Sharpe was also a nominee….

  8. By Frankie on Sep 29, 2012 | Reply

    I don’t think Kramer is eligible anymore.

    Kramer is a solid reason why we call the Super Bowl trophy the Lombardi. If he doesn’t make his block on jethro pehu, allowing Bart Starr to sneak in the end zone in the Ice Bowl we’d be calling it the Landry trophy.
    Kramer deserves his place. He beat up on players in his era like Merlin Olson, Alex Karras, Deacon Jones, all of which are enshrined in Canton.
    Kramer was shafted by the number of Packers of that team that did make the HOF. The HOF didn’t want to show favoritism toward the Pack.
    Packer fans everywhere should united and demand the HOF committee to reconsider, and allow Kramer his rightful place in the HOF.

  9. By Jim Guild on Sep 29, 2012 | Reply

    Spencer—You have no idea about the packers and what it is to be a fan of this great franchise. You’ll never get it, but those of us who do, even if we are from NY State, are a part of the greatest experience in pro football.

  10. By nigeriaguest on Sep 29, 2012 | Reply

    red tops green tops yellow tops

  11. By Bob on Sep 29, 2012 | Reply

    The L is for LOSER

  12. By Sandy on Sep 29, 2012 | Reply

    How could they not mention one of the best WR Green Bay has ever had.?

  13. By Bryan on Sep 30, 2012 | Reply

    Packers that deserve to be in HOF that are not: Jerry Kramer, Dave Robinson, Sterling Sharpe, Leroy Butler, Bob Skoronski, Bobby Dillon

  14. By Roger on Sep 30, 2012 | Reply

    What does it take to get Jerry Kramer into the HOF? With out a doubt one of the premier players of his era.

  15. By Kenny on Sep 30, 2012 | Reply

    Sterling Sharpe deserves to be in the Hall but I doubt he ever makes it. Unfortunately, his career was cut short, due to medical reasons. His statistics just aren’t there for his position. I know Gale sayers got in the HoF with a shortened career but that was a different era.

    I would love to see Leroy get in as well. I have always thought he was never quite appreciated the way he should have been.

    Kramer may make it on the Senior nomination someday. I know all Packer fans hope he does.

Sorry, comments for this entry are closed at this time.