Coming Up
  • Mon., Jul. 13, 2015 7:00 AM CDT Packers Hall of Fame Inc. Golf Classic

    The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. Golf Classic is set for Monday, July 13, 2015, at The Bull in Sheboygan Falls, WI. Those interested in participating in the event can contact Holly Borga (920-965-6986; hollyb@packershalloffame.com) for more information.

  • Sat., Jul. 18, 2015 7:00 PM CDT Brett Favre's Packers HOF Induction Banquet

    The Green Bay Packers Hall of Fame Inc. will induct former Packers quarterback Brett Favre at the 45th Annual Hall of Fame Induction Banquet. The event will also feature the retirement of Favre’s No. 4. This dual recognition is an honor that is unprecedented in Green Bay Packers history. The banquet will be held on Saturday, July 18, 2015, in the Lambeau Field Atrium.

  • Fri., Jul. 24, 2015 11:00 AM CDT 1919 Kitchen & Tap opens

    1919 Kitchen & Tap is scheduled to open on July 24, 2015 on the first floor of the Atrium (below where Curly's Pub was located).  We hope you'll join us at our new restaurant as we continue to make history with respect to our past!

  • Tue., Jul. 28, 2015 11:00 AM CDT Shareholders Meeting

    The Green Bay Packers 2015 Annual Meeting of Shareholders will be held Tuesday, July 28, at 11 a.m., at Lambeau Field. The meeting will take place rain or shine.

  • Thu., Jul. 30, 2015 8:20 AM - 10:20 AM CDT *Public practice *Any practices moved inside to the Don Hutson Center due to inclement weather, poor field conditions or for any other reason will be closed to the public due to space limitations. All other practices listed are expected to be open unless listed otherwise. All outdoor practices are expected to be held on Ray Nitschke Field (across from the Resch Center). All times indicated are Central.

McCarthy not buying challenge explanation

Posted by Mike Spofford on August 10, 2013 – 5:18 pm

He could smile and laugh about it because it was the preseason, but Mike McCarthy clearly wasn’t buying the explanation he got for why his challenge of a call at the goal line was overruled on Friday night.

On their first offensive drive of the night, the Packers went for it on fourth-and-goal at the 2-yard line and handed off to RB James Starks, who was tackled and ruled down at the 1. Trying to push through the pile, Starks appeared to reach the ball out across the goal line without his knee hitting the ground, so McCarthy challenged the play, only to see the call on the field upheld.

Asked for the explanation he got from referee Carl Cheffers, McCarthy obviously wasn’t satisfied.

“The ball was over the goal line. Carl said he could not see his knee,” McCarthy said. “His hip was three feet off the ground, so I couldn’t see his knee either.

“You can figure that out … at least three feet off the ground.”

For a full recap of McCarthy’s Saturday press conference, click here.


Tags: , , ,
Posted in Packers.com Blog, Training Camp
blog comments powered by Disqus