O-line gets recognized

Posted by Mike Spofford on November 24, 2010 – 9:45 am

The Green Bay Packers’ offensive line has been selected as the Week 11 winner of the Madden Most Valuable Protectors Award, given weekly to one team’s offensive line by Hall of Fame coach John Madden and sponsored by Prilosec OTC.

Tackles Bryan Bulaga and Chad Clifton, guards Daryn Colledge and Josh Sitton and center Scott Wells overcame a slow start in the game and helped QB Aaron Rodgers throw for 301 yards and four TDs last Sunday against the Vikings. Backup tackle T.J. Lang and center Jason Spitz also saw action in Sunday’s game.

“The Green Bay offensive line has settled into a good groove and is playing as well as they have all season,” said Madden in a news release announcing the award. “I like how these guys have consistently gotten stronger despite the loss of one of their top tackles (Mark Tauscher) and a top running back (Ryan Grant). They don’t allow many sacks, they don’t commit many penalties, and they pass protect very well. The Packers are a good team, with a quality offensive line.”

The Green Bay offensive line now joins the list of this year’s contenders for the 2nd annual Madden Most Valuable Protectors Award, which honors the NFL’s best offensive line and will be presented during the week of Super Bowl XLV.

Posted in Packers.com Blog
blog comments powered by Disqus
%d bloggers like this: