Another award for Matthews

Posted by Mike Spofford on January 13, 2011 – 3:45 pm

LB Clay Matthews has received another major award, being named the NFC Defensive Player of the Year as part of the NFL 101 Awards.

The “101” is a national media committee of sportswriters and broadcasters who cover the NFL. Matthews will receive his award at the 41st annual NFL 101 Awards gala on Saturday, March 5, in Kansas City. The event was founded in 1969.

Other award winners this year include Philadelphia QB Michael Vick and New England QB Tom Brady as NFC and AFC Offensive Players of the Year, respectively; Pittsburgh S Troy Polamalu as AFC Defensive Player of the Year; and Atlanta’s Mike Smith and Kansas City’s Todd Haley as NFC and AFC Coaches of the Year, respectively. NFL Films also received the Lamar Hunt Award for Professional Football.

Posted in Blog
blog comments powered by Disqus
%d bloggers like this: