Josh Sitton named second-team All-Pro by Associated Press

Posted by Mike Spofford on January 8, 2016 – 2:58 pm

GREEN BAY — Packers guard Josh Sitton has been named second-team All-Pro by the Associated Press for the second straight season.

Named to his third career Pro Bowl last month, Sitton received the third-most votes of all guards across the league from the AP’s panel of voters. Baltimore’s Marshal Yanda and Pittsburgh’s David DeCastro were the first-team selections. Sitton was joined on the second team by Dallas’ Zack Martin and San Francisco’s Mike Iupati, who tied for fourth in the voting. Sitton came just two votes from tying DeCastro for second and making the first team.

“Anytime you can do something at a high level and be consistent with it, I think that’s what you’re looking for,” Sitton told reporters on Friday. “I’ve been fortunate in my career to have some success, and I’ve been able to stay healthy. That’s the biggest thing. Any accolades you get, it always means a lot.”

Just like last year, Sitton hasn’t been entirely healthy, but he hasn’t missed any games. Last season, he dealt with a painful toe injury that kept him from practicing often during the second half of the season. This year, it’s been a back injury that has limited him in practice, but he’s the only Packers’ offensive lineman to start all 16 regular-season games in 2015.

“I’ve always kind of prided myself on making sure I’m out there,” he said. “Sometimes it’s tough when you’re playing with four, five, six different lineups. Offensive line is a very unique position in the fact that you need five guys to be on the same page all at once. You need to have that chemistry, and you build that over a season. That’s what we were able to do last year, because we were able to stay healthy. That’s something unfortunately we haven’t been able to do this year, because of injury.

“But we have a chance to get healthy for the playoffs and make a little run here.”

Two other Packers received votes in the All-Pro voting by the AP. Inside linebacker Clay Matthews finished fifth in the voting at his position, one spot away from making the second team. Fullback John Kuhn also received a vote, tying for fourth at his position.


Tags: ,
Posted in Blog

Aaron Rodgers, Clay Matthews named second-team All-Pro

Posted by Mike Spofford on January 12, 2013 – 12:41 pm

Packers QB Aaron Rodgers and LB Clay Matthews have been named second-team All-Pro by the Associated Press for 2012.

The annual All-Pro team features one player at each position voted as the best for that season. No Packers made the first team, which included Vikings RB Adrian Peterson and Texans DE J.J. Watt as unanimous selections.

Broncos QB Peyton Manning made the first team, with Rodgers the second-team pick at QB. The first-team choices at Matthews’ position of outside linebacker were Denver’s Von Miller and San Francisco’s Aldon Smith.


Tags: , ,
Posted in Blog

Aaron Rodgers, Clay Matthews named to PFW midseason all-pro team

Posted by Mike Spofford on November 6, 2012 – 1:39 pm

Packers QB Aaron Rodgers and LB Clay Matthews have been named to Pro Football Weekly’s midseason all-pro team.

Rodgers leads the league in TD passes with 25 and ranks second in the league in passer rating at 107.4. Matthews is tied with two other players for second in the league in sacks with nine.

Elsewhere in the NFC North, the Bears and Vikings each had three players selected. For Chicago, they’re all on defense — DE Julius Peppers, LB Lance Briggs and CB Charles Tillman. For Minnesota, RB Adrian Peterson and WR Percy Harvin were selected, along with K Blair Walsh. Harvin was also chosen as kick returner.

The full team:

QB Aaron Rodgers/Packers
RB Adrian Peterson/Vikings*
RB Marshawn Lynch/Seahawks
WR A.J. Green/Bengals*
WR Reggie Wayne/Colts
WR Percy Harvin/Vikings
TE Rob Gronkowski/Patriots
C Mike Pouncey/Dolphins
OG Mike Iupati/49ers*
OG Marshal Yanda/Ravens
OT Duane Brown/Texans
OT Anthony Davis/49ers

DE J.J. Watt/Texans*
DE Julius Peppers/Bears
DT Geno Atkins/Bengals*
DT Vince Wilfork/Patriots
OLB Lance Briggs/Bears
OLB Clay Matthews/Packers
ILB Daryl Washington/Cardinals*
ILB Sean Lee/Cowboys
CB Richard Sherman/Seahawks
CB Charles Tillman/Bears
S Earl Thomas/Seahawks
S Mark Barron/Buccaneers

PK Blair Walsh/Vikings
P Andy Lee/49ers
PR Leodis McKelvin/Bills
KR Percy Harvin/Vikings

Mike Smith/Falcons

John Elway/Broncos

* — Unanimous selection by PFW editors

Tags: , ,
Posted in Blog